Filer Township

Township Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees acts as the Township’s legislators and is required to vote on all issues. Its primary responsibility is to guard the township’s financial health. Trustees are responsible for adopting ordinances, adopting the budget, and appointing most employees, boards, and commissioners including inspectors and fire department officers. Other duties include approving disbursements, authorizing contracts, adopting administrative policies and procedures, filling mid-term vacancies, and buying or selling township property.

Meeting Schedule

All regular meetings will be held at the Charter Township of Filer Hall, 2505 Filer City Road, Manistee, Michigan 49660.
Meetings will be held on the first Tuesday of the month (unless otherwise stated).
The dates of the meetings mentioned above will be as follows:

Tues. April 5, 2022 – 6:00 p.m.
Tues. May 3, 2022 – 6:00 p.m.
Tues. June 7, 2022 – 6:00 p.m.
Tues. July 5, 2022 – 6:00 p.m.
Thurs. August 4, 2022 – 6:00 p.m.
Tues. September 6, 2022 – 6:00 p.m.
Tues. October 4, 2022 – 6:00 p.m.
Thurs. November 3, 2022 – 6:00 p.m.
Tues. December 6, 2022 – 6:00 p.m.
Tues. January 3, 2023 – 6:00 p.m.
Tues. February 7, 2023 – 6:00 p.m.
Tues. March 7, 2023 – 6:00 p.m.

Special meetings shall be called and held at the discretion of the Filer Charter Township Board and with proper and due
notice of such special meetings.

Current Board Members

SupervisorTerry Walker
ClerkShirley Ball
TreasurerTom Stege
TrusteesTom Chycinski
Dean Kruse
Dale Kolanowski
Brian Krus

Documents

How to Get Your Topic on the Board Agenda

Any personnel who desire to have a business item placed on the agenda needs to notify the clerk or supervisor and
provide supporting documentation at least eight business days prior to the township board meeting.